Heartbeat Music

Serena Ryder

I was first introduced to Serena Ryder back in 2007 when she opened up for Paulo Nutini at the Murat Theater in Indianapolis. She stole the immediate attention of the crowd when she performed an a cappella stomping rendition on Etta James “At Last”. Needless to say, it blew me away. That was one of the few concerts where I went away thinking more about the opener than the main act. Ever since that night I knew Serena Ryder was something special and that I should keep a close eye on her work.

Serena Ryder is a Canadian musician, born in Toronto and first gaining national recognition with her ballad “Weak in the Knees” in 2007. Ryder has spent much of the last few years recoding her latest album Harmony (2013). She recorded many of the songs featured on this album at her home, which they call The Cottage. Regarding Harmony, Serena states,  “HARMONY is my journey…my past, my present, my future and all the ugly and beautiful things that I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing so far in my short life here.”. I was very excited to finally get a listen a Ryder’s new material and when I finally listened to Harmony, I was once again blown away.This album highlights everything Serena has to offer vocally, instrumentally, and most importantly as a song writer. You hear her covering her three-octave vocal range (which is impressive!) over the entire album. Every song has something different to offer from foot-stomping singalongs to beautifully harmonized ballads. I simply cannot get enough of this album. It is truly a work of art and this is why Serena Ryder deserves all the Heartbeats that she can get!

Ps. Congratulations to Serena Ryder for her FIVE 2014 Juno Award Nominations! + JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year

“Stompa”

“Weak In the Knees”

“For You”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggaZ2NhqN5A

Become a HEARTBEAT for Serena Ryder:

 live dates   facebook  iTunes10  twitter   NEW_youtube_logo

Let me know what you think!

One comment

Leave a Heartbeat for HBMusic

